In Honor of Cured Meats, I’m Instituting Sausage Saturdays

Since this blog was named after cured meats, I would be remiss to overlook all of the other tasty cured meats that are out there, namely bacon, ham, and sausage.  As such, I’ve decided to institute Sausage Saturdays.  Every Saturday I will post sausage recipes, except for the Saturdays where I inevitably forget.  Oh, and my sister-in-law giggled at this idea…  So if you have any issues with Sausage Saturdays, you may contact her at sister-in-law-who-likes-to-encourage-bad-ideas@gmail.com.  (Actually, I’m pretty happy she found it funny because sometimes my gutter gets lonely.)  Alright, without further ado, here is the first recipe.

Drumroll…

Sausage Veggie Grill

16 oz Italian Sausage, cut into ½ inch chunks

1 zucchini, cut into 1 inch slices

1 summer squash, cut into 1 inch slices

1 red pepper, sliced

1 medium onion, chopped large

1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms

¼ cup olive oil

1 TBSP oregano (dried)

1 TBSP parsley (dried)

1 tsp garlic salt

1 tsp paprika

In a large bowl, combine the first six ingredients.  In a small bowl, combine the olive oil and spices.  Pour over sausage mixture, and toss to coat.  Divide between two pieces of heavy-duty foil.  Fold foil around sausage mixture and seal tightly.  Grill, covered over medium heat for 25-30 minutes or until meat is no longer pink and veggies are tender.  Open foil carefully.

daughter & dad

Aaaawwww…. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was considering writing a Father’s Day post, but really what says “Happy Father’s Day!” like grilled meats?  Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there and enjoy!

*This can also be roasted, at 400 degrees Farenheit, for approximately the same amount of time.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to In Honor of Cured Meats, I’m Instituting Sausage Saturdays

  1. ChrisP says:

    you need a proofread thats not “cut”

  2. ChrisP says:

    You can delete these afterwards I just noticed that and wanted to say something =))

  3. Andrew says:

    I couldn’t have said it better myself. What dad doesn’t like grilled meats, unless he’s a vegetarian. But then he still might like an eggplant formed into a patty and steak flavored. And you know what, why not have everyday be sausage day?

    • It’s very tempting to make some quip that it should be sorta like sex after marriage and kids, a once a week endeavor. Naturally, I would never stoop so low as to make a comment like that. 😀

  4. clownonfire says:

    L&L,
    You had me at nitrate!
    Le Clown

I write for free... so... please leave comments...

