Not So Sausage Saturday

Okay, it hit 100 degrees today…  Even I don’t want to eat heavy meals and/or cook when it’s that hot out!  So, rather than doing a sausage recipe, today I’m going to do a fruit salsa recipe.  It is the tastiest thing ever and works with chips, pita, or as a topping on grilled meats.

Fruit Salsa:

2 medium Granny Smith apples

1 pint strawberries

1 kiwi

1 small orange

2 TBSP brown sugar

2 TBSP apple jelly

Peel, core, and slice apples.  Peel kiwi.  Zest orange and juice orange.  Coarsely chop apples, kiwi, and strawberries in a blender or food processor.  Then mix in the orange zest, orange juice, brown sugar, and apple jelly.  I could pretty much eat this entire thing in one sitting.  So,I usually double the recipe.

I don’t normally do tons of photos, but I really liked these.  (I’ve been trying to take more candid pictures when we’re out and about…)  Oh, and the only reason there’s more pictures of John than anyone else is that he’s the most cooperative when it comes to pictures…  My oldest usually turns away right as I’m snapping, and my two-year-old… Well, she acts like a two-year-old.  (She loves the camera one minute, and hates it the next.)

Hope everyone is having a good weekend and staying as cool as possible!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Not So Sausage Saturday

  1. clownonfire says:

    L&L,
    “… the only reason there’s more pictures of John than anyone else is that he’s the most cooperative”. Yeah, ok. Same reason why I like candies over Swiss chard, right?
    Le Clown

    • Hmmm. You may have a point there. When he was really little, my sister-in-law said, “God made him extra cute to prevent you from killing him…” And she had a good point.

      True story. 🙂

  2. Good for you for even taking on this recipe. I basically shut down when it gets this hot and can find little to no motivation to do anything. Cute pics… I love the sepia tones… is that the right word? It’s much better temps this morning in Michigan, still warm, but we actually have the windows open! Woo hoo!

    • No, I shut down when it’s this hot too. Actually this kind of weather makes me glad to live in the North… but house-hunting makes me miss Michigan!

      And thanks on the pictures. I love sepia tones too!

  3. I love the title of this post, Lovely. The salsa sounds yummy. If it weren’t 100 degrees out I would go out to buy the ingredients for it.

  4. jimmydevious says:

    Sounds like just the thing we need down yonder way for foodibles here in the Devil’s Dutch Oven…err…I mean Texas! 😉

I write for free... so... please leave comments...

